top of page

Wednesday Walkies: Plunkett Conservation Park

StartFragment

Flesser Road

CEDAR CREEK

I'm so lucky that this place is so close to me! It's the place I most frequently take my own dogs, and where local Adventure Walk dogs generally will get taken as well. It's quiet, I think in all the times I've been there I've only ever come across another person twice, and although generally I go on the weekdays, early morning, I can't imagine it would be a bustling hang out even over the weekend. There are a few different access points, but I've found the best is at the end of Flesser Road. It's the easiest to park, and you've very quickly got access to a variety of trails and directions to hike in.

As this is a conservation park, dogs are allowed on lead only. I've seen some absolutely huge kangaroos in here on most occasions, so adhering to the leash laws are definitely a good idea! Something else to bear in mind is that this park also allows horses to be ridden on the trails, and although I've never come across any while hiking here, there's always fresh manure so it's definitely used by local riders.

Plunkett is huge. It also doesn't have water, toilets or bins, so be prepared for that- especially if you're travelling any degree of decent distance to get to it. There are patches in the park where reception is poor or even non existent, and although their signage has improved in the front section of the park on some of the most commonly used and easy trails, you're pretty much left to your own devices further afield. It's easy to get lost in here if you're not aware of where you've at least been, if you don't know where you're heading to.

This is bush walking, hiking, not a gentle stroll. Although you can keep your path fairly flat if you pick your direction and back track on the return, the majority of trails here are unstable and often encompass steep sections with loose footings. I would strongly discourage using this park during wet weather, or even shortly after heavy rainfall as the terrain would verge on dangerous in a lot of sections.

If you're after an adventure, and want a higher intensity walk, Plunkett should definitely be on your list.

EndFragment

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page